The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith

Another $1 book from my local library’s ongoing used book sale. I bought this for my burgeoning personal library because it looked like a quick read, is well-known (to bookstore employees at least), and seemed like the kind of book someone else would be interested in if they were stuck inside during a rainy vacation and turned to my bookshelves for distraction. The not-obviously linear storyline McCall used was a great way to unfold the story: I sat in the African sun and languidly plucked the petals of each chapter until the book was soon finished. Precious Ramotswe gets a little too much help from God for me to be completely impressed, but her understanding of human character is inspiring.

 

Summary:

Meet Precious Ramotswe, the Miss Marple of Botswana – a heroine who is endearing, engaging, and simply irresistible. With persistent observation, gentle intuition, and a keen desire to help people with the problems of their lives, she solves mysteries great and small for friends and strangers alike.

