Anne Of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery

Of course I’ve read this before, both in high school and in university, but I don’t remember anything of the literary analysis I may have learned about it. I added this (and the rest of the series) to my library because some other girl in the future is still going to enjoy reading it, and because of my lasting love for books that detail everyday life.

I love the modern theme of this old book: nature and being a good person is a worthy substitute for religion. Anne is an incredibly well-fleshed out character: the agonies and ecstasies of her childhood are instantly recognizable. I also liked her (as does everyone else who enjoys this book because she is the book) – this is fascinating because Anne is essentially Lucy Maud Montgomery. The author created a character out of her childhood self who was instantly beloved; is that ego, skill, or happenstance?

 

Summary:

As soon as Anne Shirley arrives at the snug white farmhouse called Green Gables, she is sure she wants to stay forever … but will the Cuthberts send her back to the orphanage? Anne knows she’s not what they expected – a skinny girl with fiery red hair and a temper to match. if only she can convince them to let her stay, she’ll try very hard not to keep rushing headlong into scrapes and blurting out the first thing that comes to her mind. Anne is not like anybody else, the Cuthberts agree; she is special – a girl with an enormous imagination. This orphan girl dreams of the day when she can call herself Anne of Green Gables.

