Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

I saw this on my friend Tara’s bookshelf while helping her move; I borrowed it because it’s the first in a popular series and this was the easiest way I was going to end up finally reading it. The creatures, the culture and the history presented are as in-depth as those in the Harry Potter universe, but ultimately the world that Eoin Cofler created – full of crime-fighting fairies and prepubescent human criminals – was too clever for his own writing. The fairies with their nuclear-batteried surveillance gear and solar-powered strap-on wings smash through the story faster than the author’s sense of suspense does. It was a fun and fast read, but I doubt I will pick up the rest of the series.

 

Summary:

Twelve-year-old Artemis Fowl is a millionaire, a genius – and, above all, a criminal mastermind. But even Artemis doesn’t know what he’s taken on when he kidnaps a fairy, Captain Holly Short of the LEPrecon Unit. These aren’t the fairies of bedtime stories – they’re dangerous! Full of unexpected twists and turns, this book is a riveting, magical adventure.

