Persuasion by Jane Austen

On the contents of that letter depended all which this world could do for her!

Austen really shows us how the characters are feeling, rather than tells us. But sometimes it’s nice to be told, especially when the subtleties are hidden under layers of 200 year old British manners and commas.

Does he or doesn’t he? Will she or won’t she? I wanted to tear through this story to find out, but there were so many commas that I was forced to move slowly. Today’s hectic pace is reflected in the number of commas we’ve thrown out of our sentences.

 

I could never doubt that you would be loved and sought by others, but I knew to a certainty that you had refused one man at least, of better pretensions than myself: and I could not help often saying, Was this for me?

Summary:

Anne Elliot is a woman of quiet charm and deep feelings. When she was nineteen, she fell in love with – and was engaged to – the fearless and headstrong Captain Wentworth. But the young man had no fortune, and Anne allowed herself to be persuaded to give him up. Eight years later, Anne, still deeply in love but guided by her pride, and Wentworth, seemingly cold and unforgiving, are thrown together in the social world of Bath.

