The Origins Of Virtue by Matt Ridley

That’s it, I’m not reading any more non-fiction. Non-fiction puts me off reading because I move so slowly through it. It has nothing to do with this particular book, in fact this is probably one of the better ones in terms of readability, but I’ve realized I’m just not looking to be convinced (it’s not much of a debate anyway). I want to read what people have written that comes out of their love for words, not what they’ve written that comes out of their love for facts and happens to use words.

This is exactly the kind of book I’d suggest Rolf read, then tell me about when he’s done.

 

Summary:

If, as Darwin suggests, evolution relentlessly encourages the survival of the fittest, why are humans impelled to live in cooperative, complex societies? This fascinating examination of the roots of human trust and virtue reveals the results of recent studies that suggest that self-interest and mutual aid are not at all incompatible. In fact, our cooperative instincts may have evolved as part of mankind’s natural selfish behaviour – by exchanging favours we can benefit ourselves as well as others.

