2010 Book Roundup

For the first time since 2006 when I started recording the books I read, I’ve met my goal of reading 52 books in a year. Yay! I had to “cheat” a bit by reading a lot of children’s lit.

I started reading the Giller Prize shortlist every year in 2007 (I can’t remember why I picked the Gillers), and this year all five – including the winner – kind of sucked. I didn’t really enjoy any of them or even think they were that great. The 2009 winner, The Bishop’s Man, was the least well-written of the lot, but it dealt with a BIG TOPIC so I guess that’s why it got the nod.

My top five for 2010:

1. The Forever War by Joe Haldeman
This is some amazing sci-fi, no wonder it’s such a classic, albeit one I’d never heard of even though I used to watch a TV show (Space: Above & Beyond) that was based off of it. It takes real talent to write a story that remains so powerful, and it’s doubly hard to do with science fiction.

2. Pride And Prejudice by Jane Austen
As much as The Forever War stirred my geek girl heart, so Pride And Prejudice stirred my heart for domestic fiction. Austen is the master and this is her masterpiece.

3. The Baby-Sitters Club #1: Kristy’s Great Idea by Ann M. Martin
You can’t really compare the Baby-Sitters Club with Tuck Everlasting (#4), but I think I had more sheer fun reading it so that’s why it’s #3.

4. Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt
Beautiful piece of children’s literature, I can’t wait to read this one to a kid at bedtime.

5. The whole Little House On The Prairie series by Laura Ingalls Wilder
The domestic fiction holy grail for children’s lit. Self-sufficiency is so inspiring.

If I did a bottom five it would be all the books on the 2009 Giller shortlist.

