Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

Perhaps if I didn’t know that there was a sci-fi twist waiting to be revealed in this novel I would have enjoyed it more. Although I didn’t know the specific twist, I still knew that something was coming, and the languid pace and drowsy meanderings of the narrator made me want to scream. Only after finishing the book was I able to look back and finally enjoy the narrating style – but during the book I was frustrated. This is because Ishiguro did an amazing thing and created a story told by a clone, for other clones … but clones aren’t the ones reading it.

Kathy’s narration both pulled me in and pushed me away – she is telling us this beautiful story that at its core has emotional elements that everyone can relate to, but at the same time is framed in experiences that I couldn’t understand at all. I believe that the author and I have a fundamental disagreement about what it is to be human: he is saying that to be human is to want to love, but I think to be human is to want to live.

 

Summary:

All children should believe they are special. But the students of Hailsham, an elite school in the English countryside, are so special that visitors shun them, and only by rumor and the occasional fleeting remark by a teacher do they discover their unconventional origins and strange destiny.

