The Wonderful Wizard Of Oz by L. Frank Baum

The more slowly you read this book, the better it is. At my adult reading pace, I only got a hint of the beauty lying in the valley of each page as I flew over. I plan to read this book aloud one day, and then I expect I’ll see why it is on so many top 100 lists.

 

Summary:

All the special fears and delightful fantasies of a child’s dreamworld come to life as a cyclone lifts Dorothy from Kansas and deposits her in the enchanted country of the Munchkins. Here she meets the famous Oz characters: the Scarecrow, the Tin Woodman, the Cowardly Lion, and the Wicked Witch of the West. And here her adventures along the Yellow Brick Road on the way to the Emerald City and the Wizard himself evoke the rich, universal appeal of a classic fairy tale.

