The Wind In The Willows by Kenneth Grahame

“Nice? It’s the only thing,” said the Water Rat solemnly, as he leant forward for his stroke. “Believe me, my young friend, there is nothing – absolutely nothing – half so much worth doing as simply messing about in boats.”

I much preferred drifting in boats with Rat and Mole, and visiting Badger in his hidden home in the woods, over storming Toad Hall to reclaim it for its irresponsible master. I had a hard time getting along with the arrogant Toad, and can only wish that I had a set of such forgiving friends. Other than Toad, life beside the River was so very beautiful that I could only hold up both hands and gasp “O my! O my! O my!”

 

Summary:

Emerging from his home at Mole End one spring, Mole’s whole world changes when he hooks up with the good-natured, boat-loving Water Rat, the boastful Toad of Toad Hall, and the society-hating Badger who lives in the frightening Wild Wood.

