Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer

I guess I always felt even if the world came to an end, McDonald’s would still be open.

The end of the world as recorded in a teenager’s extremely well-written diary. I could have stayed up all night reading this novel, but I was adult enough to realize that two nights in a row of that might not be the greatest for my sleep schedule. Many of my preferred themes are in play in this tense account of what is lost when the Moon is knocked closer in its orbit to the Earth: young adult, post-apocalyptic, daily detailed survival. As Miranda’s life as she knew it shrinks from the world wide web, to the town limits, to her backyard, and finally to a single room in her house, the itemized contents of the pantry soon becomes the main topic. I never thought I’d say this about a novel since I usually love reading about life’s minutiae in situations far removed, but maybe it’s a little too minute.

 

Summary:

When a meteor hits the moon and knocks it closer in orbit to the earth, nothing will ever be the same. Worldwide tidal waves. Earthquakes. Volcanic eruptions. And that’s just the beginning.

