Cat Daddy by Jackson Galaxy

And then, with a gentle spasm, the school bus drives off, taking my brave Benny to the next beautiful stop. Leaving me holding a reminder that bodies are just experiments. Glass to hold the mercury.

This book just came out, and I got it from the library because my friend Scott – a big fan of Jackson Galaxy – suggested we attend an online book release party for it that is coming up. I zipped through it pleasantly just in time for the web chat with Jackson Galaxy on October 2. It’s fairly obvious that Galaxy is not a great writer, but he has a great story. All I’ve seen of his show is a commercial, but that is enough for me to know I am a fan and that I could learn a lot about cats from him. This biography is recommended for current or future Jackson Galaxy fans, all of whom are presumably cat fans as well.

 

Summary:

Cat behaviourist and star of Animal Planet’s “My Cat From Hell”, Jackson Galaxy isn’t what you might expect for a cat expert. Yet Galaxy’s ability to connect with even the most troubled felines – not to mention the stressed-out humans living in their wake – is awe-inspiring. In this book, Galaxy tells the poignant story of his thirteen-year relationship with a petite gray-and-white short-haired cat named Benny.

When Benny arrived in his life, Galaxy was a down-and-out rock musician with not too much more going on than a part-time job at an animal shelter and a drug problem. Benny had seen better days – his pelvis had just been shattered by a car and his previous owner insisted he’d been “unbondable” from day one. Nothing could have been further from the truth. An inspiring account of two broken beings who fixed each other, Cat Daddy is laced throughout with Galaxy’s amazing Cat Mojo advice for understanding what cats need most from us humans in order to live happier, healthier lives.

