Homecoming by Cynthia Voigt

After their mother abandons the four Tillerman children somewhere in the middle of Connecticut, they have to find their way, somehow, to Great-Aunt Cilla’s house in Bridgeport, which may be their only hope of staying together as a family.

Buy it on Amazon.com
 


 
Genre: Children’s / YA

My rating: ★★★★½

A ragtag group of children making it on their own with their smarts and their budgeting skills, I love it! I already read this book half a dozen times when I was a kid, and this is the second time I’ve owned it. Oh god, that was twenty years ago. When I was a teenager I sold most of the books I’d acquired when I was younger, but I wish I had been a bit more judicious with my Cynthia Voigts. Rereading Homecoming has made me excited to revisit the author’s other works. Can’t wait to pick up Jackaroo again!

This book gets four and a half stars instead of the elusive five because it’s not quite literary enough.
 

