Crank by Ellen Hopkins

I mean, there I was,
snorting crank
with my dad,
my boyfriend,
and his other girlfriend.

Something majorly
wrong with that picture.

 

Another dark recommendation by my friend Lindsey, and likewise excellent. Keep them coming, Lindsey! I was turning pages like I was on crank (which is meth, apparently). The short journal entries on each page make for lightning fast reading and surprisingly it does NOT get annoying when it turns out the entire book is told in teenage free verse poetry.

Unlike Go Ask Alice, I can actually believe the journey this girl takes into drugs. I can even almost believe this is a teenager’s diary, which is a rare feat in the genre.

 

Summary:

Kristina is the perfect daughter: gifted high school junior, quiet, never any trouble. Then she meets the monster: crank. And what begins as a wild ride turns into a struggle for her mind, her soul – her life.

