Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

His hands inch over my stomach and his fingers are pulling at the underwire of my bra. He’s not very good with bras. He’s not that good with breasts in general, actually. I mean, it’s not like I really know what it’s supposed to feel like, but every time he touches my boobs he kind of just massages them hard in a circle. My gyno does the same thing when I go in for an exam, so one of them has to be doing it wrong.

As you can tell, this book is funny. It’s also exciting. And poignant. And deep. And incredibly believable with authentic teenage voices – believable even while being about a mystical Groundhog Day-like experience. It has a fantastic message and gives several effective lessons, including a hard, truly unflinching look at what bullying is and can do to someone.

I borrowed this book, but I definitely want a copy of my own so I can lend it out.

 

Summary:

Samantha Kingston has it all: looks, popularity, the perfect boyfriend. Friday, February 12th, should be just another day in her charmed life. Instead, it turns out to be her last.

The catch: Samantha still wakes up the next morning. Living the last day of her life seven times during one miraculous week, she will untangle the mystery surrounding her death – and discover the true value of everything she is in danger of losing.

