The Baby-Sitters Club #3: The Truth About Stacey by Ann M. Martin

Kristy, Claudia, Mary Anne and Stacey are back in form as excellent role models learning great lessons in this third entry in the Baby-Sitters Club series. I like that the back of the book actually doesn’t reveal the second major plot point in this book (although I’m about to tell you, spoiler alert). Besides the truth about Stacey, the baby-sitters deal with a rival unscrupulous baby-sitting business. Despite being only 12 years old, the baby-sitters are smart and capable pre-adults, especially Stacey. I think I remember even wishing I had diabetes like Stacey when I was a kid because of how well she handled it and how cool she was. Apparently I was learning a lot from these books when I was younger, just obviously not quite enough.

 

Summary:

The truth about Stacey is that she has diabetes. Nobody knows … except her friends in the Baby-Sitters Club. But even they don’t know the real truth about Stacey. Stacey’s problem is her parents. They won’t admit she has the disease, and they drag her to practically every doctor in America!

Seeing so many doctors made Stacey lose one friend, and she won’t let it happen again. Especially now – when the Baby-Sitters Club needs her more than ever!

